Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 26th, 2007

Two Weeks

I have demolished my previous record for blog inactivity, and have failed to document ANYTHING in writing (on paper or internet) for two whole weeks, and a day. It’s not a big loss. I really can’t remember much of anything happening, actually. My head is still foggy (maybe from the anesthesia, which everyone tells me can remain in your system for months); I’m sleepy all the time; and I have no idea how to cook without fat. Seriously. I made tacos last night, and they sucked. I now suck at tacos. Tacos, people! Who can’t make a decent taco??? Who?! So this is my life without the ability to cook or write. It’s somewhat lacking, but not too terrible. I’m optimistic that it will improve. Especially once I get my hands on some good low-fat cookbooks to study.

(I guess I never blogged the fact that my gall bladder has to come out at some point, and in the meantime, fat hurts a lot. Great diet plan, though!)

In other news, the kids and I have spent the daylight hours of this week at the park, where the Family Resource Center is running a day camp. It’s been great fun for me to meet other women from town and chat and help out a little bit. And the kids played with lots of older kids and enjoyed themselves immensely.

Oh, and ever since we returned from Ojai, Jonah has been playing with his imaginary brother, Pak. Last night, he asked me if I would get him a baby brother– a real one. I told him to ask God about that, because it wasn’t up to me. (Which really means, “Kid, I’m doing everything I can to prevent that from happening, so if you want it, you’ll need a miracle.”) And, seeing as how that was the way that Jason came into existence (his ten-year-old, adopted sister praying that her supposedly infertile parents would have a baby), we’re probably in big trouble. Let’s just hope he doesn’t get more sisters.

Read Full Post »