Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 4th, 2008

Instant Food

I like to cook from scratch– just about everything. That is, when I’m not a pregnant food hater with activity restrictions. Lately I’ve been buying a lot of convenience foods, like brownie mixes, boxed mac and cheese, instant rice, canned beans, frozen chicken tenders, store-bought cookies, etc. So my children are now learning the wonders of prepackaged food.

Today I pulled out a carton of Trader Joe’s Creamy Tomato Soup for lunch. (So tasty. So natural. So devoid of MSG.) Anna watched me open the package.

Anna (age 6): What’s that?

Me: It’s tomato soup.

Anna: In a box?

Me: Well, yeah.

Anna: How can they put soup in a box?

Me: I think they put wax or plastic on it so that it’s waterproof.

I poured the soup into a bowl.

Anna: Hey, it’s soup!

Me: Yeah.

Anna: But it’s already made!

Me: Yeah, I just need to heat it in the microwave so that it will be warm.

Anna: But you don’t have to make it!

Me: Yeah.

Anna: Now THAT is cool.

Read Full Post »